Michael Dease
11 1111
1 111

Michael Dease

Michael DeaseNever More Here

Michael Dease - trombone, tenor sax 2
Steve Wilson - alto & sop. sax, alto flute 3
Renee Rosnes - piano
Gerald Cannon- bass
Lewis Nash - drums
Rufus Reid - bass 6, 7, 9
Randy Brecker - trumpet 8
Jocelyn Gould - guitar 3, 4, 8
Song 5: Jason Tiemann - drums, Endea Owens - bass, Luther Allison - piano
Markus Howell - alto sax, Diego Rivera - tenor sax

Trombonist Michael Dease pays fitting tribute to his ongoing relationship with the music of Charlie Parker on his aptly entitled album “Never More Here.” The album runs much deeper than a simple collection of Bird tunes. The program seeks to provide a musical compendium of Bird's message and his personal influence on Dease and other members of the Jazz diaspora via the compositions and performances of several key proteges and devotees of his music. To provide assistance in bringing his vision to fruition, Dease assembled an all-star lineup of musicians including alto saxophonist Steve Wilson, pianist Renee Rosnes, bassist Gerald Cannon, and powerhouse drummer Lewis Nash, along with a number of special guests like Randy Brecker, Rufus Reid, and Jocelyn Gould. With a thoughtful program of inspired performances and an inclusive message of influence, “Never More Here” remains focused, insightful, steadily swinging, and refreshingly melodic enough to evoke a wide assortment of bright moments to discerning jazz fans everywhere.