11 1111
1 111

Patrick Cornelius

CorneliusThis Should Be Fun

Patrick Cornelius - alto sax
John Escreet - piano
Ben Allison - bass
Mark Ferber - drums
Nick Vayenas - trombone 2, 3, 5, 6 & 9

Alto Saxophonist Patrick Cornelius steps back onto the roster with his latest release This Should Be Fun. It's no joke when Cornelius stands up and delivers a compelling program with the serviceable assistance of pianist John Escreet, bassist Ben Allison and drummer Mark Ferber in the rhythm section. For added excitement, trombonist Nick Vayenas steps into the front line for a few numbers and Cornelius reaches back and pushes the intensity even further, truly demonstrating his astonishing command of his instrument. Critical listeners will certainly enjoy this amazing collection of compositions and arrangements while Cornelius entertains us and succeeds in reinforcing that he is a saxophonist to keep our ears on in the years to come. From the opening salvo to the final crescendo, This Should Be Fun engages the audience and is sure to delight fans of straight forward jazz everywhere.