Join our mailing list

JazzTimes reviews Jacam Manricks “Cloud Nine”…

leave a comment


By Bill Milkowski

Australian-born, New York-based alto saxophonist-composer Jacam Manricks has been quietly churning out quality recordings as a leader that feature some of the most in-demand players on the NYC scene. Cloud Nine, his fourth, is no exception. With Adam Rogers on guitar, Matt Wilson on drums and Sam Yahel on organ, he has recruited first-class talent. Together they forge a potent, swinging chemistry on Manricks originals like “Any Minute Now,” the soothing, harmonically rich “Loaf” and the “Giant Steps”-influenced “Take the Five Train.” Rogers is a six-string marvel throughout, and Wilson’s choices never fail to surprise. Manricks proves himself a stellar improviser, particularly with his impassioned, unaccompanied “Serene Pilgrimage.” The copasetic crew also turns in a sparsely haunting rendition of Jobim’s “Luiza” to close.


Written by editor

November 4th, 2012 at 1:55 pm