11 1111
1 111

Josh Lawrence

Josh LawrenceContrast

Josh Lawrence - trumpet
David Gibson - trombone
Orrin Evans - piano 8, 9 & 10
Caleb Curtis - alto sax
Zaccai Curtis - piano
Laques Curtis - bass
Anwar Marshall - drums

Trumpet player Josh Lawrence examines the scene from a whole new perspective on "Contrast, his second release for Posi-Tone. Using both his instrument and his skills as a bandleader, Lawrence succeeds in making another inspired statement by exploring several different musical avenues with his "Color Theory" project. Also featured on the record are the colors and sounds of alto saxophonist Caleb Curtis, trombonist David Gibson pianists Orrin Evans and Zaccai Curtis, bassist Luques Curtis, and drummer Anwar Marshall. The session is elegantly lyrical and clearly suggestive of a modern jazz sensibility. With an amazing combination of talents, brilliant performances, and an evocative program of new original compositions, "Contrast" is sure to bring bright moments of intense delight to serious listeners and jazz fans everywhere.