Blue Moods
11 1111
1 111

Blue Moods

NewtonMyth & Wisdom - PR8225

Diego Rivera - tenor sax
Art Hirahara - piano
Boris Kozlov - bass
Joe Strasser - drums
David Kikoski - piano on 5, 8, 9

All too often we encounter the sad reality that the songwriting of many influential jazz artists, who are regularly proclaimed as masters by the critics, languish in relative obscurity, while their compositions remain recondite, or at best, largely unfamiliar to a vast segment of contemporary audiences. In the hope of remedying this situation and creating new interest in these artists, Posi-Tone is initiating a series of “Blue Moods” releases. These introductory programs are focused on a single artist to re-present some of their vital works to a new group of listeners. This premier volume spotlights the compositions of Charles Mingus, and celebrates the “Myth & Wisdom” of his masterful musical artistry. These collaborative releases will feature the members of our musical repertory theatre company performing succinctly focused and interpretive reenactments to highlight some of the “great plays” of these under appreciated songwriters.